Academic stuff

The Voynich Manuscript in Evidence

The Voynich-Manuskript...

... took in view by Sylvia Witt.

An article within an older edition of the P.M. History presented the Vonynich manuscript including some pictures from the old book. Curiosity was aroused. Especially, because already at first sight the described research had little in common with the document.
The Voynich manuscript is an old, hitherto undeciphered handwritten document around which great myths have grown. Neither the writing nor the language are known. Even the origin of the document is unexplained.
Here the somewhat different view at a supposedly great mystery.

The Voynich manuscript taken in view. Based on the scans of Jason Davies.
The Accused and his Script. On the Structural Analogy between Transactional Analysis and the <i>Stories</i> of Franz Kafka and Josef K.

The Accused and his Script. On the Structural Analogy between Transactional Analysis and the Stories of Franz Kafka and Josef K.

In: Kafka - Schriftenreihe der Deutschen Kafka-Gesellschaft Volume 1. By Oliver Uschmann.

Every day people sabotage themselves and do not know why.
Open-eyed, they keep running back into the same courtroom of which they already know - here I will never obtain an acquittal. The theory of the unconscious script from Eric Berne's Transactional Analysis explains this pattern. Berne explained many of the tragic scripts of the human soul using classic fairy tales. This contribution explains them by means of the work and life of Kafka, who in his letters, his diaries and his self-image even staged himself as a character who in the end must inevitably be condemned.

Purchase at Amazon.
Some Unsystematic Considerations on Systems Theory. Or: Get out of the Rabbit Hole!

Some Unsystematic Considerations on Systems Theory. Or: Get out of the Rabbit Hole!

In: Weimarer Beiträge 1/2004. By Oliver Uschmann.

At the beginning of the noughties the author was a real disciple of Niklas Luhmann. In this essay he tries the thought experiment of disproving Systems Theory. After reading it, one has understood it without falling for it.

Of Supermen and Hunger Artists

Of Supermen and Hunger Artists

In: Weimarer Beiträge 1/2003. By Oliver Uschmann.

A wild but conclusive ride through the thought models of Günther Anders, Adorno, Nietzsche, Kafka, Luhmann and Eric Berne along the question of how which great thinkers reacted to the presumptions of megamodernity.

Assoziative Hyperlink

Assoziative Hyperlinks: About the Handling of Things in Recent German Literature

In: Sinn-haft 17 - Inmitten der Dinge von Oliver Uschmann.

Like a web article with hyperlinks, pop literature is full of references to the cultural archive while writing it at the same time. The contribution shows to what extent this technique has even been used by Shakespeare and Mann.

Purchase at Amazon.
Wissenschaftsreligion

Paradise or Apocalypse. A Sketch of the Imaginations and Paradigms of the Scientific Religion with Special Emphasis on the Nuclear Debate in the Fifties

Seminar paper by Oliver Uschmann.

Science likes to present itself as the pure voice of reason against the dark forces of irrationality and rapturous glorification. In fact, by her visions and manifestos she herself becomes a belief system.

Purchase at Amazon. Purchase at Autorenwelt. Purchase at Grin.
Mulholland Drive

The Religion of Illusion - Attempt at Mulholland Drive

Seminar paper by Oliver Uschmann.

An ecstatic application of philosophical thought patterns to David Lynch's incredible film. Quote: "The cowboy forces the director to choose one side of the difference."

Purchase at Amazon. Purchase at Grin.
Discourse Analysis

From Pair Sequence to Bio-power. A Brief Outlook on the Broad Field of Discourse Analysis

Seminar paper by Oliver Uschmann.

The idea that linguistic utterances are not only descriptions but also actions, gave rise to many schools of Discourse Analysis, from practical linguistics to Foucault's theory of power. Here you can get to know them.

Purchase at Amazon. Purchase at Grin.
War Preparation

SStructure, when the World Falls into Pieces... Suggestive Strategies of Verbal War Preparation The speeches of George Bush on 20th of September 2001 and Rudolf Scharping on 12th of April 1999

Seminar paper by Oliver Uschmann.

A timelessely valid overview of the most important rhetorical tools of effective manipulation, exemplified by the speeches with which the Kosovo war and the US operations after 9/11 were justified.

Purchase at Amazon. Purchase at Autorenwelt. Purchase at Grin.
Minnesang

he Transformation of the Closed System Minnesang into the Open System Neidhart

Seminar paper by Oliver Uschmann.

For a long time the Minnesang only followed specific rules and purposes far away from any autonomous art. It only began with the Enlightenment, but the individualist Neidhart had already prepared the way in the 13th century.

Purchase at Amazon. Purchase at Grin.
Humboldt and Chomsky

Commonalities and Differences in the Linguistic Philosophies of Humboldt and Chomsky

Seminar paper by Oliver Uschmann.

Humboldt's idea that language makes "infinite use of finite means" forms a root of Chomsky's later generative grammar. What united the great minds and what separated them, here in brief.

Purchase at Amazon. Purchase at Grin.
Situational Valence

Storrer's Model of Situation Valence

Seminar paper by Oliver Uschmann.

A compact summary of the theory, also known as dependency grammar, that every verb, like a director, assigns roles around itself, which can - or must - be filled in different ways.

Purchase at Amazon. Purchase at Grin.
Time and Timekeepers

Time and Timekeepers

Diploma thesis by Sylvia Witt.

There is always more than one truth! Based on this premise and with a clear, variable and yet stringent layout and a typography adapted to the respective topics, a compendium about time and timekeepers came to life, in which contents complement, contradict or even exclude each other in order to illuminate the overall theme. The book, which was written as part of the diploma thesis, combines most of the aspects related to time and timekeepers, which are seen and evaluated very differently in European culture.
The Diploma thesis in design consisted of several parts: 1. research of the most important research results and different components of time and timekeepers. 2. writing the book text, with the premise to communicate the research results in a barrier-free language in an optimal way. 3. development and implementation of a book design that is both mediatingly effective and visually appealing, with the focus on educational book design. 4. academic stuff: creative preparatory work, analytical and conceptual groundwork, concept for Diploma thesis and of course the presentation.
Many thanks to the best speakers of all times: Hendrik Teunissen van Manen and Professor Richard Zülch at the University of Applied Sciences Düsseldorf in the department of design (today PBSA).

Phonetics

Phonetics

Concept and Design of the New Development of the Tongue-emphasized Phonetic Transcription by Sylvia Witt.

International phonetic transcription must generally be learned like a new alphabet with significantly more elements than usual letter sequences. Although there are not so many different sounds that we use in all languages we're maybe making it harder than it should be with the current phonetic transcription. This in mind, four new developments of phonetic transcriptions were developed.
The most vivid of these new developments, the tongue-emphasized phonetic transcription, makes it possible to form the correct sounds through physical imitation of the signs. A short introduction is enough to be able to put them into practice. In addition to clarifying the expression of a foreign language, this phonetic language would make it possible to learn language without the ability of acoustic control, as well as the easier learning of reticles (= lip-reading), by which visually spoken words can be derived. Thus, this bodily function-near phonetic transcription would be a proven learning aid for people who cannot hear, but want to come into communication with people who can hear but don't know Sign Language.
The tongue-emphasized phonetic transcription is the result of a joint project under the tutor Hendrik Teunissen van Manen, in which three more abstract but equally interesting phonetic transcription concepts were developed: Gabi Kulke - The Closed- and Opened-emphasized Alphabet. Marcel Kolvenbach - The Language-Image-Transfer. Michael Wiemeyer - The Geometric Phonetic Transcription.

Taboo

Taboo

Joint Investigation on the Subject of Taboo. By Sylvia Witt and others.

The question was whether something like taboos still exists in our today's enlightened society at all.
The short answer: It does.
The longer answer: Taboos change in the course of time and society, but they never seem to come out of fashion.
This study was carried out under the tutor Hendrik Teunissen van Manen in collaboration with Ruth Bäumer, Silke Bartsch, Anke Dessin, Thekla Halbach, Anja Ridder, Thomas Hagenbucher and Sebastian Niederhagen.
Taboos and the resulting prejudices and stereotypes were justified when the world was still inscrutable and it was more important to find rules than explanations to ensure survival. But despite of the explanations we can fall back on today, instant assessments, on which taboos are based, are not only persistent, but have been increasing exponentially in recent years.
The psychological mechanisms are deep within us, we can hardly consciously resist them and yet they are in constant change. What can be modified unconsciously can also be changed consciously. In contrast to the period of time in which this study took place, today people in the media and marketing industry are responsible for the ever faster change of the sayable and the unsayable. Terms that were sorted in the dirty corner 45 years ago were completely accepted 30 years ago and are even considered old-fashioned today. What has been rated left-wing radical 15 years ago and political centre 10 years ago, is labeled right-wing populist today. What seemed unthinkable three years ago, is now an accepted necessity. But not only with which stuff one is constantly confronted, modifies the way we see the world and thus also taboos, prejudices and stereotypes. Also own thoughts, empathy and imagined role reversal help to understand the world in its complexity and to question and overcome taboos and their offshoots. We may think for ourselves.
This work is part of the inspiration for the fantasy novel Das Tabu (AT), the art cycles 200 Secret Works and On the BAB, as well as the exhibition Under the Surface.

Akademisches

Der Angeklagte und sein Drehbuch. Zur Strukturanalogie zwischen der Transaktionsanalyse und den <i>Geschichten</i> von Franz Kafka und Josef K.

Der Angeklagte und sein Drehbuch. Zur Strukturanalogie zwischen der Transaktionsanalyse und den Geschichten von Franz Kafka und Josef K.

In: Kafka - Schriftenreihe der Deutschen Kafka-Gesellschaft Band 1. Von Oliver Uschmann.

Tagtäglich sabotieren Menschen sich selbst und wissen nicht, warum.
Offenen Auges laufen sie immer wieder in den gleichen Gerichtssaal, von dem sie bereits wissen - hier werde ich niemals einen Freispruch erwirken. Die Theorie des unbewussten Drehbuchs aus der Transaktionanalyse von Eric Berne erklärt diese Muster. Berne erläuterte viele der tragischen Skripts der menschlichen Seele anhand klassischer Märchen. Dieser Beitrag erklärt sie anhand des Werkes und des Lebens von Kafka, der sich in seinen Briefen, seinen Tagebüchern und seinem Selbstbild sogar selbst als Figur inszenierte, die am Ende unausweichlich verurteilt werden muss.

Kauf bei Amazon.
Einige unsystematische Betrachtungen zur Systemtheorie. Oder: Raus aus dem Kaninchenbau!

Einige unsystematische Betrachtungen zur Systemtheorie. Oder: Raus aus dem Kaninchenbau!

In: Weimarer Beiträge 1/2004 von Oliver Uschmann.

Anfang der Nullerjahre war der Autor ein regelrechter Jünger von Niklas Luhmann. In diesem Essay versucht er als Gedankenexperiment, die Systemtheorie zu widerlegen. Nach der Lektüre hat man sie begriffen, ohne ihr zu verfallen.

Von Übermenschen und Hungerkünstlern

Von Übermenschen und Hungerkünstlern

In: Weimarer Beiträge 1/2003 von Oliver Uschmann.

Ein wilder, aber schlüssiger Ritt durch die Denkmodelle von Günther Anders, Adorno, Nietzsche, Kafka, Luhmann und Erice Berne entlang der Frage, wie welche Geister auf die Anmaßungen der Megamoderne reagiert haben.

Assoziative Hyperlink

Assoziative Hyperlinks: Vom Umgang mit den Dingen in der jüngsten deutschen Literatur

In: Sinn-haft 17 - Inmitten der Dinge von Oliver Uschmann.

Wie ein Netzbeitrag mit Hyperlinks steckt die Popliteratur voller Verweise auf das kulturelle Archiv und schreibt zugleich daran mit. Der Beitrag zeigt, inwiefern diese Technik sogar schon Shakespeare und Mann angewendet haben.

Kauf bei Amazon.
Wissenschaftsreligion

Paradies oder Apokalypse. Eine Skizze der Imaginationen und Paradigmen der Wissenschaftsreligion mit besonderer Betonung der Atomdebatte in den fünfziger Jahren

Seminararbeit von Oliver Uschmann.

Die Wissenschaft gibt sich gerne als reine Stimme der Vernunft gegen die dunklen Kräfte von Irrationalität und schwärmerischer Verklärung. Dabei wird sie in ihren Visionen und Manifesten selber zum Glaubenssystem.

Kauf bei Amazon. Kauf bei Autorenwelt. Kauf bei Grin.
Mulholland Drive

Die Religion des Scheins - Versuch über Mulholland Drive

Seminararbeit von Oliver Uschmann.

Eine rauschhafte Anwendung philosophischer Denkmuster auf David Lynchs unglaublichen Film. Zitat: "Der Cowboy nötigt den Regisseur zu einer Entscheidung für eine Seite der Differenz."

Kauf bei Amazon. Kauf bei Grin.
Diskursanalyse

Von Paarsequenz bis Biomacht. Ein kleiner Ausblick auf das weite Feld der Diskursanalyse

Seminararbeit von Oliver Uschmann.

Der Gedanke, dass sprachliche Äußerungen nicht bloß Beschreibungen, sondern Handlungen sind, begründete viele Schulen der Diskursanalyse, von praktischer Linguistik bis zu Foucaults Machttheorie. Hier lernt man sie kennen.

Kauf bei Amazon. Kauf bei Grin.
Kriegsvorbereitung

Struktur, wenn die Welt aus den Fugen gerät... Suggestive Strategien der verbalen Kriegsvorbereitung Die Reden von George Bush am 20.09.2001 und Rudolf Scharping am 12.04.1999

Seminararbeit von Oliver Uschmann.

Eine zeitlos gültige Übersicht über die wichtigsten rhetorischen Werkzeuge wirksamer Menschenmanipulation, beispielhaft erklärt anhand der Reden, mit denen der Kosovokrieg und die US-Operationen nach 9/11 begründet wurden.

Kauf bei Amazon. Kauf bei Autorenwelt. Kauf bei Grin.
Minnesang

Die Transformation des geschlossenen Systems Minnesang in das offene System Neidhart

Seminararbeit von Oliver Uschmann.

Eine lange Zeit folgte der Minnesang nur bestimmten Regeln und Zwecken fern abseits jeder autonomen Kunst. Die begann erst mit der Aufklärung, aber der Individualist Neidhart hat im 13.Jh. schon mal vorgearbeitet.

Kauf bei Amazon. Kauf bei Grin.
Humboldt und Chomsky

Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede in den Sprachphilosophien Humboldts und Chomskys

Seminararbeit von Oliver Uschmann.

Humboldts Gedanke, dass die Sprache "unendlichen Gebrauch von endlichen Mitteln" mache, bildet eine Wurzel der späteren generativen Grammatik Chomskys. Was die großen Geister einte und was sie trennte, hier in Kurzfassung.

Kauf bei Amazon. Kauf bei Grin.
Situationsvalenz

Storrers Modell der Situationsvalenz

Seminararbeit von Oliver Uschmann.

Eine kompakte Zusammenfassung der auch Dependenzgrammatik genannten Theorie, dass jedes Verb wie ein Regisseur um sich herum Rollen verteilt, die verschieden gefüllt werden können - oder müssen.

Kauf bei Amazon. Kauf bei Grin.
Zeit und Zeitmesser

Zeit und Zeitmesser

Diplomarbeit von Sylvia Witt.

Es gibt immer mehr als eine Wahrheit! Mit dieser Grundvoraussetzung entstand in einem klaren, variablen und doch stringenten Layout und den jeweiligen Themen angepasster Typographie, ein Kompendium über Zeit und Zeitmesser, in dem Inhalte sich ergänzend, gegensätzlich oder sogar einander ausschließend das Oberthema beleuchten. Das im Rahmen der Diplomarbeit entstandene Buch vereinigt den Großteil der Aspekte bezüglich Zeit und Zeitmessern, die in der europäischen Kultur höchst unterschiedlich gesehen und bewertet werden.
Die Design-Diplomarbeit bestand aus mehreren Teilen: 1. Recherche der wichtigsten Forschungsergebnissen und unterschiedlichen Komponenten von Zeit und Zeitmessern. 2. Verfassen des Buchtextes, mit der Prämisse, die Forschungsergebnisse mit einer barrierearmen Sprache die Inhalte optimal zu vermitteln. 3. Entwicklung und Ausführung einer sowohl vermittelnd-effektiven also auch optisch ansprechenden Buchgestaltung, mit dem Augenmerk auf Lehrbuchgestaltung. 4. Akademisches: Kreative Vorarbeit, analytische und konzeptionelle Vorarbeit, Konzept zur Diplomarbeit und natürlich die Präsentation.
Vielen Dank an die besten Referenten aller Zeiten: Hendrik Teunissen van Manen und Professor Richard Zülch an der FHD im FB Design (heute PBSA).

Lautschriften

Lautschriften

Konzeption und Entwurf der Neuentwicklung der zungenbetonten Lautschrift von Sylvia Witt.

Die internationale Lautschrift muss in der Regel wie ein neues Alphabet mit deutlich mehr Elementen als übliche Buchstabenfolgen erlernt werden. Es zwar nicht so viele unterschiedliche Laute, die wir in allen Sprachen verwenden, aber möglichweise machen wir uns es mit der bisherigen Lautschrift schwerer, als es sein müsste. Mit diesem Gedanken entstanden vier Neuentwicklungen von Lautschriften.
Die plastischste dieser der Neuentwicklungen, die zungenbetonte Lautschrift, ermöglicht es, durch physische Nachahmung der Zeichen die korrekten Laute zu formen. Eine kurze Einführung reicht, um sie praktisch umsetzen zu können. Neben der Verdeutlichung der Ausdrucksweise einer Fremdsprache kämen mit dieser Lautsprache sowohl das Erlernen von Sprache ohne die Fähigkeit akustischer Kontrolle in Betracht, als auch das leichtere Erlernen des Absehens (= Lippenlesen), womit visuell gesprochene Worte abgeleitet werden könenn. Somit wäre diese körperfunktionsnahe Lautschrift eine probate Lernhilfe für Menschen, die nicht hören können, jedoch in Kommunikation mit Menschen kommen möchten, die hören können, aber die Gebärdensprache nicht beherrschen.
Die zungenbetonte Lautschrift entstand aus einer Gemeinschaftsarbeit unter dem Dozenten Hendrik Teunissen van Manen, in der auch drei abstraktere, aber ebenso interessante Lautschrift-Konzepte entwickelt wurden: Gabi Kulke - Das verschluss- und öffnungsbetonte Alphabet. Marcel Kolvenbach - Die Sprach-Bildumsetzung. Michael Wiemeyer - Die geometrische Lautschrift.

Tabu

Tabu

Gemeinschaftliche Untersuchung zum Thema Tabu. U.a. von Sylvia Witt.

Es stand die Frage im Raum, ob es so etwas wie Tabus in unserer heutigen, aufgeklärten Gesellschaft überhaupt noch gäbe.
Die kurze Antwort: Es gibt sie.
Die längere Antwort: Tabus befinden sich im Wandel der Zeit und der Gesellschaft, aber sie kommen offenbar nie aus der Mode.
Diese Untersuchung entstand unter dem Dozenten Hendrik Teunissen van Manen in Zusammenarbeit mit Ruth Bäumer, Silke Bartsch, Anke Dessin, Thekla Halbach, Anja Ridder, Thomas Hagenbucher und Sebastian Niederhagen.
Tabus und die daraus erwachsenen Vorurteile und Stereotypen hatten ihre Berechtigung, als die Welt noch undurchschaubar war und es eher galt, Regeln als Erklärungen zu finden, um das Überleben zu sichern. Doch trotz der Erklärungen, auf die wir heute zurückgreifen können, halten sich Instant-Beurteilungen, auf denen sich Tabus begründen, nicht nur hartnäckig, sie steigen in den letzten Jahren exponentiell an.
Die psychologischen Mechanismen stecken tief in uns, wir können uns ihrer kaum bewusst erwehren und doch befinden sie sich im ständigen Wandel. Was unbewusst modifizierbar ist, kann sich auch bewusst ändern. Im Gegensatz zu dem Zeitraum, in dem die vorliegende Untersuchung stattfand, sind heute Menschen in den Medien und im Marketing für die immer schnellere Änderung von Sagbarem und Unsagbarem verantwortlich. Begriffe, die vor 45 Jahren in die Schmuddelecke gehörten, waren vor 30 Jahren völlig akzeptiert und gelten heute sogar als altmodisch. Was noch vor 15 Jahren linksradikal und vor 10 Jahren politische Mitte war, ist heute rechtspopulistisch. Was vor drei Jahren undenkbar schien, ist heute azkeptierte Notwendigkeit. Doch nicht nur das, womit man ständig beschallt wird, modifiziert die Sichtweise auf die Welt und damit auch Tabus, Vorurteile und Stereotype. Auch die eigenen Gedanken, Empathie und imaginierter Rollentausch helfen dabei, die Welt in ihrer Komplexität zu schätzen, sowie Tabus und ihre Ausläufer zu hinterfragen und zu überwinden. Wir dürfen selbst denken.
Diese Arbeit ist Teil der Anregung zu dem Fantasy-Roman Das Tabu (AT), den Zyklen Zweihundert heimliche Werke und Bauarbeiter auf der BAB, sowie der Ausstellung Unter der Oberfläche.